New models

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Marc4, Apr 14, 2008.

1. Marc4 macrumors member

Hi all,

First post, first Mac - well it's going to be, once I figure out what to buy :)

To give you a bit of background, I'm a business professional working at a VoIP startup and still do some technical work - although not nearly what I used to in the early days.
    My activities mostly involve project planning, so lots of Outlook, Excel, Word, some PowerPoint, and occasionally FTP/SSH/etc. Not massive amounts of power-hungry apps, to summarize. I do travel around 30% of the time, so a heavy 17" MBP is out of the question for me.

Now, I've been reading a lot about MacBook models and played with them all - the base model, the Air, the Pro, and I've narrowed it down to the base and the Air as even the 15" MBP seems overkill for me.
    All was well, and I was about to pick one, until I heard that the current MB/MBP models were due for a fairly significant refresh in the near-term (possible WWDC in June, but I'm not holding my breath).

My question to you all is: do you foresee a significant update to the MB line that is worth waiting a few months for, or would you go for a current or refurbished model?
    Mind you, I'm not in a rush - but my T41 is driving me nuts (although still on XP SP2) and I'm itching to switch to Leopard...

Also, another question I couldn't get enough background on is: will the MBA's hard drives get a decent SATA interface so that SSD is actually worth the investment?

Thanks in advance for your insight.
    -Marc

2. flopticalcube macrumors G4

flopticalcube

The next major advance comes from Intel in June when it releases its new mobile platform called Montevina. When the MacBook gets Montevina-based components is anyones guess but I would say not until August or September.

3. wannabe07 macrumors member