New or Refurb?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hirtaza, Apr 20, 2014.

1. hirtaza macrumors member

hirtaza

Hi,
    Long time reader and first time poster, First of all I love these forums and the community so hopefully I will get a useful reply here, here it is

I've never ever used a mac in my life and I'm finally jumping on the bandwagon, I'm a student and looking to get a macbook pro 15 inch retina! base model since I can only afford that! however I was looking on the apple website and I can get the top model (16gig with 512gb ram and ofcourse the dedicated graphics) for only a $159 more!

My question is since this is my first time ever jumping to a MBPr or any mac Obviously I would like a brand new laptop that has never been used before however the refurb model is quite attractive for what it has to offer interms of price! from your experience or in your opinion is there a difference between refurb/ new (obviously other than something was wrong with it before and it got fixed) but interms of your educated opinion in using the laptop itself, would it make a difference to you if you were to get a new one or a refurbished one! thank you in advance.

2. caribiner23 macrumors regular

caribiner23

I am a huge fan of the Apple Store-refurbs. I've bought MacBooks, MacBook Pros, iPods, and iPads and never had a moment of trouble.

3. Hammie macrumors 65816

Hammie

I've heard nothing but positive reviews/comments about the refurbs. I am considering a refurb, but spec for spec, I would only be saving about $100 off a new one. Without an upgrade, I am not sure if that is worth it for me personally.

However, in your case, that it a very nice upgrade for that money. I would go for the refurb path. Keep in mind, that it is still new to you.

Keep in mind, I do not believe you get the fancy boxes that a new one comes in. Just my two cents as I am also looking at the refurb models.

4. hirtaza thread starter macrumors member

hirtaza