New OS, then car head unit "stops"

Discussion in 'iPod touch Accessories' started by NatPro, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. NatPro macrumors member

    NatPro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    I have an Alpine iDA-X305S in my car that I have been running my 32gig iPod Touch for about a year now with no problems.

    Today I updated the software on the iPod to the latest available and now scrolling through the artists through the head unit is very sluggish (a huge understatement) or doesn't even scroll at all.

    The unit is supposedly made for iPod.

    I have no idea what to do, I have tried resetting the iPod and the head unit, but nothing changes.
     
  2. Black&Tan macrumors 6502a

    Black&Tan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    #2
    I would suggest checking the iPhone forum for similar issues and suggestions....

    I believe the latest suggestion is to shut the ipod/iphone off, plug it into the head unit, and then restart the ipod.

    Another option was to "re-pair" the device with the head unit.
     
  3. liamkp macrumors 68020

    liamkp

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #3
    I agree. If this doesnt work you should probably try downgrading to 3.1.2 (no downgrades to 3.1.3).
     
  4. TorontoLRT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Location:
    Toronto, Duh!
    #4
    It's possibly something to do with the new frameworks in iOS 4. I would agree with the suggestion of re-pairing.
     
  5. NatPro thread starter macrumors member

    NatPro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    thanks for your help guys.
    ill look into it.
    any troubles and ill be back here

    cheers
     
  6. NatPro thread starter macrumors member

    NatPro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    ok so i tried the stuff
    wasnt sure what the "re pairing" was, i was guess it was having it connected to the unit and restarting etc...

    none of that worked.

    i then decided to try to downgrade to 3.1.2 and that doesnt work either.
    i am not working with a jailbroken ipod.


    how do i downgrade to 3.1.2.... i have followed directions from another thread which i couldnt get to work. when i try it says the device isnt eligible for the requested build
     
  7. iMac0765 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    #7
    1. Go here: http://www.felixbruns.de/iPod/firmware/

    2. Scroll down until you see "iPhone / iPod touch / iPad"

    3. Click the drop down menu and look for "iPod Touch __G 3.1.2 7D11" *

    4. Download the file and save it somewhere you remember

    5. Open iTunes and plug in your iPod Touch normally.

    6. Go into the iPod summary page and look for the "Restore button"

    7. While holding the "Ctrl" key on your keyboard, click the "Restore" button

    8. A window will pop up asking to locate the .ipa (The file you downloaded)

    9. Select it and open it. It will now downgrade.

    10. Congrats you are now on the faster 3.1.2!

    *Fill the blank with the generation number.

    If you have a flat back, then it's the first generation (1G)
    If you have a curved back, and MB model number, it's the second generation (2G)
    If you have a curved back and MC model number, it's the third generation (3G)

    All 3.1.2 firmwares will be 7D11.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. NatPro thread starter macrumors member

    NatPro

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #8

    this is what i did.
    no success

    ps. its the "option" key, not control
     

Share This Page