New Patch / NAS no AEBS - Workaround?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by chinarider, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. chinarider macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #1
    I have a Lacie 2Big Network disk on my network that I would like to use for Time Machine.

    I was hoping the new update would allow me to do that even though I do not have an AEBS.

    Has anyone been able to do this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Have you tried the following Terminal command?

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.systempreferences TMShowUnsupportedNetworkVolumes 1
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    Unless this disk is shared as an AFP share (not Samba), no, I don't believe you can.
     
  4. chinarider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #4
    Yes, it is shared as AFP. And yes, I have tried the terminal command as well - no dice. :(
     
  5. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #5
    My NAS won't work over AFP but it does work over CIFS (Windows Sharing).

    I have a ReadyNAS NV+
     
  6. dvd macrumors regular

    dvd

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    Can you define, "no dice?" What happens when you try? What errors do you get?

    I am sharing a Linux filesystem via AFP/netatalk after having used the above Terminal command and it works perfectly, so I'm wondering where/how yours is breaking.
     
  7. chinarider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #7
    Sorry for the broad generalization!

    It prompts me to "Choose Backup Disk" - I select the drive, click "use for backup", then goes back to the TM main screen. If I turn on the "Switch", it goes back to the disk selection screen.

    I can select other drives no problem - Until I try to select the network drive, then the same cycle happens.

    Thanks.
    T
     
  8. cavemonkey50 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #8
    Rename the network share to something more simple. Spaces and other weird characters can throw Time Machine off.
     
  9. JISystems macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Location:
    Northern California
    #9
    I dont know if it will help but I was getting the same problem with an external HD attached to a AEBS. I solved it my changing the way I was connection to it, I was connecting as guest switched it to registered user.

    Hope that might help
     
  10. chinarider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #10
    The share is a one-word name - The first letter is capitalized though.

    There are other threads dealing with this issue as well. I will try the instructions in:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=439304

    I'll let you all know if this works in my situation.
     
  11. chinarider thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #11
    Nope, connecting as a registered user with full read/write access. Thanks though!
     

Share This Page