New PowerMac to me

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dmueller6, Jan 27, 2012.

1. dmueller6 macrumors newbie

Just bought a G5 from craigslist for 150. Hope I didnt get ripped off. Its a 2.0 dual core,1 gig ram and a 160 hd. Has a fx5200. Now i know the machine is older, but I just cant justify spending 1200 on the cheapest Imac, let alone 2500 on a new Mac pro. Besides Im kinda new to the Mac scene and my wife knows even less.

The person was asking 300, but no software kb or mouse was included, so I offered 150 and they took it. It does have 10.5.8 on it, office 2008, ilife and I already have Iwork so that will go on next. When i opened her up it was really clean inside, and all fans work without making any noise. Case has a few scratches but normal for a machine that is 8 years old.

I've already installed an airport extreme and another gig of ram. This thing runs circles around the dell it replaced, p4 with winxp. This machine is going to be used for online schooling, web browsing and my kids to play on. I also intend to learn more about the Mac os since I'm a windows guy.

Aside from adding maybe another gig of ram, should I replace the vid card to an ATI, not really planning on gaming, just web videos, kids games. Which should I look for?

Any input or advice is appreciated.

2. Nova77 Guest

Dude, my main machine is a G4. It is enough power for modern web browsing, youtube (even in HD), photoshop, web design, audio production, etc. You got a dual G5. Do the math... Imho, everything is a matter of getting the right apps for your computer.

Welcome to the PowerPC world, unsupported by Apple, supposedly obsolete, but in reality only flash sucks.

3. Nova77, Jan 27, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012

Nova77 Guest

Since you are new to the mac world, and to the mac PPC world, here are some apps you totally need to have: