new quad-core i5, reporting 2.66 speed

Discussion in 'iMac' started by DDR76, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. DDR76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #1
    I just bought a new mid-2010 updated iMac with 2.8GHz Core i5. However, when I looked at the system profiler, it reports CPU speed at 2.66GHz.

    At first, I thought I accidentally got the late-2009 version, but other aspects of the system seem to indicate that this is correct Mac.

    The box has updated part number, but does list the CPU as 2.66GHz. It has the newer HD 5750 w/1GB RAM, it uses 1333GHz DDR3 memory. So everything seems to point that it's a new iMac, but the CPU is of the wrong version.

    Has anyone heard about this? Anyone know what's going on? Help appreciated.
     
  2. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
    #2
    that's very strange. It's either you get an older model or the new ones. Never heard of older chip in mid 2010 iMac
     
  3. Freis968 macrumors 6502a

    Freis968

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Location:
    Winter Park, Florida
    #3
    I went ahead and checked mine and it appears to be fine.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. DDR76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #4
    Weird

    Here's the screenshot of mine. I agree very weird. iMac11,3 is supposed to be the 2010 version. The odd thing is the box it came in also says 2.66, though it's in a glued on label. Perhaps this one of early prototypes or something?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #5
    thanks for the tip.

    When I get my new iMac (between Aug 12 - 16 - probably before Aug 22), I'll inspect its box label and system config readings as well. And if needed, I'll be "on the horn" with Apple Sales folks as well...

    Great find and a reminder to all....

    .
     
  6. ThirteenXIII macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #6
    Really bizarre, isnt 2.66ghz i5 the previous generation iMac?

    somehow they must have messed up parts?
    interesting.....

    any word from apple on this?
     
  7. GyroFX macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles and NorCal
  8. Sammy Cat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    North America
    #8
    Exchange it immediately.

    This also happened to a friend of mine.
     
  9. dexthageek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    #9
    That sucks sorry man.

    Call AppleCare maybe you will get something extra out because of the problem.
     

Share This Page