New quad iMac or Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by piecer239, Oct 27, 2009.

1. piecer239 macrumors newbie

How much faster are the processors in the Mac Pro vs. the new quad iMacs? I'm a photographer and have an old dual G5 and really need to update. Is it worth paying double for a Mac Pro or can the new iMacs handle photoshop work?
    I realize anything will be better than what I have now, just trying to figure out what direction I should go in.

Thanks

2. sweex macrumors member

I would buy the iMac. I think that the quad-core is powerful enough to handle Photoshop, it's cheaper and you'll have an ATI Radion HD graphics card which, I think is better then the NVIDIA G-Force GT 120. You'll have a bigger HDD more options and not to forget a beautiful 27inch display included...
    But I'm not a photographer and I don't often use Photoshop so maybe the mac Pro will be better but I don't think so, especially if you look at the price difference!

3. Poncho macrumors 6502

Poncho

My 2008 3.06Ghz iMac with 4Gb Crucial RAM handles Photoshop work easily. The new iMac will only do it much better.As for Lightroom, the same. As for Microsoft Word, no difference. A Word doc is not going to open noticeably or usefully faster on a new Mac compared with a G5, and the blank page that greets you is not going to get filled with your pithy thoughts any the quicker either.

4. a350 macrumors regular

Mac Pro for the RAID capability and because you can upgrade it.
    More than likely a Mac Pro will last at least twice as long as the iMac.

Mac Pro can have 4 HDD drives, can have 2 super drives, PCI cards, better ECC memory. If you are serious about data and speed then the Mac Pro is your choice.

5. foshizzle macrumors regular