New RMB won't boot

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by noobinator, Mar 18, 2016.

  1. noobinator, Mar 18, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2016

    noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Bought this less than a week ago and it appears to be dead. I charged it to 100% last night and didn't use it at all today. Opened it up tonight and nothing so I pressed power and am getting this screen. I plugged it in and nothing. Hold down power and nothing. Can't get anything besides this screen.

    Has anyone ever seen this?

    Should I take it back to BestBuy since it's only been a few days?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. viperGTS macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    #2
    According to Apple, that symbol means that your Mac could not find a valid System Folder to boot up from. They recommend reinstalling OS X.

    More info here: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204156

    Sorry to hear this happened with your new MacBook. :/ Hopefully Apple's steps help get your computer up and running!
     
  3. Queen6 macrumors 603

    Queen6

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Enjoying Better Things
    #3
    I would return it to Apple, as there is no reason for this to happen in normal use, fair chance the SSD has failed.

    Q-6
     
  4. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #4
    I can't get it to attempt to even boot as I only get this circle or a blank screen so I'm not sure how to reinstall OS X. Nothing happens if I try booting using any other methods.

    BestBuy doesn't have this model in stock so I think apple might be a good option. Will they attempt to fix my machine or give me a new one? I don't want to be stuck having to leave it with them for repairs if I'm still in best buys warranty period.

    I feel it may be bad drive because I had another issue earlier this week where I couldn't boot first try. It was powered off and I pressed the power button and nothing. It wouldn't boot. Once I closed the lid and opened it, then it booted again without even re pressing the power button.
     
  5. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #5
    SMC Reset

    1. Shut down the Mac.
    2. Plug in the MagSafe or USB-C power adapter to a power source and to your Mac.
    3. Using the built-in keyboard, press Shift-Control-Option on the left side of the keyboard, then press the power button at the same time.
    4. Release all keys, then press the power button again to turn on your Mac
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201295
    --- Post Merged, Mar 19, 2016 ---
    Internet Recovery
    https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314

    http://osxdaily.com/2014/12/14/reinstall-os-x-mac-internet-recovery/
     
  6. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #6

    Then dont reinstall. Take your story to Apple and get a replacement.
     
  7. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    Thanks for this. I was trying to do these last night to no avail but I just tried internet recovery now and it worked. I'm re-installing OSX right now. Hopefully this does the trick! I'll keep my eyes open for any other issues to make sure my HD is functioning properly.
     
  8. ZipZap macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    #8
    Unless you were doing some things on the computer that might cause this issue, the HD sounds like an issue. I would not risk my data. Why not go and get a replacement.
     
  9. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #9
    I agree with the other comments here. On a new machine like this there is no legit reason to have to reinstall the OS. You have some hardware issue going on like a failing drive and you should return it.
     
  10. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #10
    Well I did recently install Bootcamp with windows 10 and then remove it a few days later. Could this mess up the drive at all or cause instability?

    On this note, what should my drives look like in Disk Utility? I'm trying to see if I see any fragments of the BootCamp partition left over. I only chose to re-install OSX perhaps I should have erased/formatted the drive first but I saw a few different ones, my main one and a "virtual drive", and I wasn't sure which to erase and didn't want to mess anything up.
     
  11. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Yes it can. That second drive you saw in recovery is a mounted disk image of the installer. If you want, run each of the two commands below in Terminal then post the output of each command here and we can tell you if your partitions and all are okay.

    Code:
    diskutil list
    
    diskutil cs list
     
  12. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    Ok will do once OS X is done installing. About 20 minutes remaining apparently.
     
  13. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #13
    There's only one method that you would normally use to safely remove a Windows boot camp partition, and that is to run the Boot Camp Assistant, which would give you the choice to remove the partition that it created.
    If you used any other method, for example Disk Utility, to remove that boot camp partition, then that's likely what affected your boot-ability.
    The OS X reinstall will take care of that. Hopefully, in the process of removing that boot camp partition, you didn't also remove the OS X partition. In that case, reinstalling will be completely clean, and your user will need to be set up again, including restoring your own files and apps from your backup drive.
    This would be a good time to ask - You do have a backup, right?
     
  14. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    I used the boot camp assistant to remove boot camp. I didn't touch anything in disk utility. I do have backups saved to my time capsule.
     
  15. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #15
    After the OS X reinstall, use the computer as much as you can for a few days, but backup any work in progress in case it fails again. If you don't encounter any problems, you should be OK. However, if you want to be certain that there's no underlying hardware problem, have it checked out at an Apple Store.
     
  16. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #16
    Here's pics of everything. I'm wondering what child count 3 means under the HD?

    image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
     
  17. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #17

    Looks all good there. :)

    I'm now thinking you borked the boot drive by not removing the Bootcamp partition properly.

    That "child count" is the number of partitions on the drive. You have three: EFI, Recovery HD, and Macintosh HD. All normal.

    Also... smart move enabling FileVault encryption like you did.
     
  18. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #18
    Thanks! How do you remove the bootcamp partition properly? I just went into bootcamp assistant and hit unlstinall windows and it removed the partition automatically.
     
  19. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #19
    You did the Boot Camp partition removal correctly.
    Because that modifies the partition map on your drive, there is some risk that a glitch will cause problems.
    Normally, the partition is safely removed, and no problems result. Sometimes - a glitch. That may be all that happened, and is a one-time event. No way to really predict or avoid that.
    So now you just get to fix it.
    Reinstalling OS X does the trick.
     
  20. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #20
    I'm starting to wonder if another factor could have caused this. I left it in my car yesterday in a sleeve for a few hours but never used it. It was not in sunlight but it was warm ish in my car. Wouldn't this just shut it down until it's cooled down though?
     
  21. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #21
    Bootcamp does not play nicely with FileVault also, so that may have buggered things. I doubt being in the car in the shade yesterday would have been hot enough to hurt anything.
     
  22. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #22
    Leaving out the whole back story with Wiin10 and BCA removal helps.

    Glad working now it sounds like.

    Booting into the normal recovery mode? To reset and repair boot drive volumes to help.

    TC I never used but bootable backups with CCC yes and godsend to have on hand and create before making changes.

    Side note, any reason you didn't leave Windows there? Thinking of doing same on mine. Not having enough disk space left for each OS?

    There are some tricks, tips to Bootcamp, and forum for just it.
     
  23. noobinator thread starter macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #23
    Just didn't have enough room on each partition for what I wanted to do.
     

Share This Page