New rMBP 13'' IR port?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ribbon, Mar 20, 2015.

  1. ribbon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #1
    I'm trying to pair my Apple Remote with the new computer but I don't know how to do it. According to the webs I've read, it should be enough with pressing at the same the Menu button and the "next" button for a few seconds, but nothing happens...

    Can anyone help me?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Psyfuzz macrumors 6502

    Psyfuzz

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #2
    I thought they stripped the IR port out of MacBooks when they moved to the Retina-era.

    As far as I'm aware, the classic Macbook Pro was the last to Pro-range feature IR ports for the remote.

    If you want to double check whether your mac can receive IR signals, go to system preferences, security and privacy, then 'advanced' in the corner. If there's an option regarding IR you have the port, if you don't have an option your mac can't receive IR signals.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    That's because the rMBP does not have an IR port.
     
  4. AliMacs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    #4
    I have it on both my 2011 17" MacBook Pro and the even older 2008 non-unibody 15" and let me tell you, absolutely the most useless feature ever.

    Plus you need to BUY a remote for it. $19 msrp. RIPOFF.
     
  5. ribbon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #5
    Well, I used it all the time, since I plug my MB to my TV to watch movies and tv shows. If there's no IR port, then the remote is 100% useless :)
     
  6. Psyfuzz macrumors 6502

    Psyfuzz

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    #7
    Just for those with experience using the Apple Remote,

    Did it work with Microsoft Powerpoint and a forward/back slide controller?
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #8
    It's useless unless you have an Apple TV you want to use it with. Apple has already provided a free iOS app as an alternative: https://www.apple.com/apps/remote/
     
  8. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #9
    It is as GGJStudios has stated. No IR in rmbps.
     
  9. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #10
    Lol, people still use the remote? I have one somewhere from my BlackBook.

    Isn't there an iPhone app that does the same thing over WiFi?
     
  10. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #11
    That's one expensive remote to have ;)
     
  11. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    Not if you already have an iPhone or iPad.
     
  12. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #13
    That goes without saying, hence the wink smiley..
     
  13. ribbon thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    #14
    Thank you for your answers. The thing is that I don't have an Apple TV (I do have an iPhone though), and I used the remote with other programas such as Movist (my default video app).
     
  14. David58117 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    #15
    Not at all..

    My mac mini is hooked up to my tv and acts as a home theater system. I use the remote and have all the movie app keys customized to the remote.

    An iPhone wouldn't work, as not all family members have one. Plus it's much easier just to pick up the remote and put something on...
     

Share This Page