New Router Apple airport just not cutting it

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Rickay726, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. Rickay726 macrumors 6502

    Rickay726

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    SO my airport router from apple keeps dropping my signal. i have to reset it like 4 times a day this is just unacceptable i really want to get a new router but i dont know what to get, can someone help me pick out a new one with a very strong reliable signal?
     
  2. poe8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    #2
    It may be cheap, but my NETGEAR WGR614 Wireless-G Router has been rock solid for 2 years. I think you can get it for around $40 now. Of course, it is only G but it suitable for most conditions.

    Are you sure it's not your cable/dsl modem? My Comcast modem (Motorola) used to drop/reset all the time requiring a reboot of everything. Since switching providers and a different model cable modem (Scientific Atlanta), has run perfect for years.
     
  3. calderone macrumors 68040

    calderone

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Prior to the latest firmware update my two Airports were running for over three months without a restart.

    You either have:

    1. A faulty router
    2. Faulty wireless card/adapter
    3. Incompatible wireless card/adapter

    If you are under warranty, consider having the airport replaced.
     
  4. msprouls macrumors member

    msprouls

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
  5. Rickay726 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rickay726

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #5
    i dont know if the router is faulty but it drops signals to 2 seperate macs.
     

Share This Page