New router question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TonyBaloney, Dec 20, 2010.

  1. TonyBaloney macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #1
    Hey all I just got a new router, the netgear wndr3600. I have it set up and everything connects to it wired or wireless. The problem is that my macbookpro is only connecting in "g" standard and not "n". The transmit rate is 54. How do I change it to N. This is in the 2.4ghz band. I tried the 5ghz band and it went to the "a" standard. How do I get it to transmit in N? thanks
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You have to set up the "n" network from the router control panel...
     
  3. TonyBaloney thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Katy, TX
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Read the instruction manual that came with the router. It's very simple.
     
  5. TonyBaloney thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    #5
    OK i think i figured it out. I was using WEP security and apparently N speeds arent supported and dials it down to 54
     

Share This Page