New school laptop

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by GuntherS, Jun 14, 2008.

1. GuntherS macrumors member

Hello everyone,

I'm looking for a new laptop for school. I'm studying computer-science in Belgium and the laptop-offers this years are the following:

HP 8510p: 15.4" (1680x1050), 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 8x DVD+/-RW Drive, ATI HD2600, 160GB 7200RPM, 3 years next-business-day warranty, Vista Ultimate.

Apple MacBook: 13.3" (1280x800), 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo, 2GB RAM, Combo Drive, Intel GMA X3100 (144MB), 120GB 5400RPM, 3 years AppleCare, Leopard

Now, the HP costs €810 and the MacBook costs €1050. The HP is a lot cheaper than the MacBook and it's more powerfull, but on the other hand, I really love OS X and Apple in general.
    The laptop will be used in school everyday for programming (Java, C#, VB.Net, SQL), internetbrowsing, creating/viewing presentations & documents and working in virtual machines for Linux & SQL Server. For some software I'll need Windows like Visual Studio 2008, CaseTalk,...

I know the most people would recommend the MacBook because it's an Apple related forum, but I hope some people can help me out with some advice. Will the MacBook be capable for all these things or should I stick with the HP?

Thanks.

2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

well one thing is that the macbook's going to be a lot more portable. Also, it will run windows just as well as the hp, the only advantage to the hp is the dedicated video card, but it doesn't seem like your going to be doing any editing, just coding. You'll be good with either, but the macbooks going to treat you a lot better and you'll always be able to go back to os x.

3. pjrobertson macrumors 6502a

Performance-wise, you'll get just as much out of the MB as the HP.
    (Under the hood the MB is probably better; more L2 cache, faster clock speed, faster RAM sclock speed etc.)