New SMS - Should name show up?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by hollerz, Oct 6, 2007.

  1. hollerz macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #1
    When the phone is locked and I get a new SMS, the 'preview' of it shows up along with the senders number, can you get it to show the senders name instead? The person is in my contacts and when I click OK to view the message, the senders name does show.
     
  2. big_malk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    This could be because the number of the person is in the phone book as 07... but the number the network says the SMS was sent from is +44... (this is how it works in the UK any, I think) Try changing the number in your phone book to use +44 instead of 07 at the start?
     
  3. hollerz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #3
    That was the problem, thanks!

    I did think about that, but thought that surely if it shows the name in the actual message it could show the name on the preview!

    Will have to change all my numbers to +44 now!

    Thanks a lot!
     
  4. hollerz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #4
    Changed all my numbers to +44, but now when someone rings, because the number in the phone book doesn't start with 07.., it just displays the number instead of the name. Guess I need to have 2 entries for each mobile number then? That's kinda messy!
     
  5. big_malk macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Yeah it seems a bit daft that it cant show the name in the preview if it can when your reading the message, maybe this is just a little thing Apple overlooked but will fix in a future update. Are you using 1.1.1 or 1.0.2 or what?
     
  6. notsofatjames macrumors 6502a

    notsofatjames

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    #6
    1.0.2 if in the UK! I assume its an import, so it might mean that the UK version one will fix this problem, as american phone numbers are formatted differently.
     
  7. hollerz thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hollerz

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Location:
    Durham, UK
    #7
    Yeah it's 1.0.2, unlocked obviously so can't update it to see if it's fixed in 1.1.1. I'd assume thats the version the UK will be getting so it might be fixed in that!
     
  8. Manj27 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    London
    #8
    ^ This is a known "problem" with phones unlocked and purchased from USA. Some countries adopt differnet number phone formats for SMS/phone calls. It of course will be fine with FW1.1.1 - but as a fix (and if u want to stay on FW1.02) check out forums on HackinTosh - search for "international phone number" and you will find a patch to correct this (i.e. you can leave all your phone numbers in contacts as 07.... or 01.... etc and patch will update iphone software to also match against +44 7... +44 1... etc etc)
     
  9. JBMUK macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    #9
    Just got the uk iphone 1.1.2 on o2 and the problem detailed her still exists. I have had to put my contacts in with 07xxx format in the mobile bit and +447xx in the fax bit so it shows the same for an sms or call.. I cannot see the image to register on the hackintosh site but its clear the problem still exisits

    has anybody got an easier way round this than entering the number twice ??

    cheers
     

Share This Page