New spotlight not working

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by TheSacredSoul, Jul 10, 2015.

  1. TheSacredSoul macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #1
    I tried doing a search for "weather Singapore" or weather with any other location for the matter but I get no results. Is there something I have to enable?
     
  2. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #2
    File a bug report. I did on the same issue last night. Spotlight doesn't appear to have weather and internet search etc. like it is supposed to.
     
  3. silvetti macrumors 6502a

    silvetti

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Location:
    Poland
    #3
    Same here, actually Spotlight acts as old spotlight, nothing like weather and movies, games etc working :(

    Already reported it.
     
  4. SG- macrumors regular

    SG-

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #4
    it seems the spotlight box when pressing command/space shows up at different spots in this build, earlier it was at the bottom of the screen sometimes which was great because it wasn't blocking my view. now it's back in the middle area.
     
  5. delta77thegreat macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    #5
    Have you tried dragging it around like a window (not sure if this new in 10.11, might be)
     
  6. SG- macrumors regular

    SG-

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #6
    awesome, didn't even know you could do that.
     
  7. fooyork macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    #7
    This is also happening for me, I have reported the bug.

    When I first installed 10.11 for some reason the 'About this Mac' dialogue box still came up saying it was Yosemite (but I had some of the new features such as the multi-paned full screen view) - this changed to El Capitan upon a further restart.

    Also, I don't think it's using the new system font.
     
  8. Precision Gem macrumors 6502

    Precision Gem

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Spotlight seems to always return strange results. I entered "Weather in California" and the top hit was the users manual for Apeture.
     
  9. Tankmaze macrumors 68000

    Tankmaze

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #9
    Sorry for bring up an old post, but spotlight weather, stock, etc in el capitan also not working for me.
    Wonder if someone got it to work ?
     
  10. NiCk- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #10
    I think that some features only work for those who are in the US if I'm not mistaken .. I'm in Europe and I don't see any of those "internet" features as well ..
     
  11. Imory macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #11
    Some of these were supposed to work on Yosemite but what Apple weren't very clear about is that many of the spotlight features are restricted to the US.
     
  12. nmeed macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    #12
    Pretty sure you're right. For some reason Apple has it so it only works for those in the USA. To those with this issue, there's nothing wrong with your system, it's by design. The only question is how to get around it.
     
  13. Tankmaze macrumors 68000

    Tankmaze

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #13
    Well I have tried with changing the region to US, the default language is english and I even use VPN from US IP
    but still not working... Don't know how to work around it to get this feature "on".
     
  14. AtheistP3ace macrumors 6502a

    AtheistP3ace

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2014
    Location:
    Philly
    #14
    Ditto here. Tried getting weather and didn't do what i expected. I figured I had just imagined it was supposed to work or thought perhaps it was iOS spotlight that did this and i had confused the two.
     
  15. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #15
    Spotlight is AWFUL. I type something and it does literally NOTHING. If it's doing something internal, it sure as hell doesn't indicate it anywhere. It's the stupidest thing I've ever seen in my life on OS X. A giant thing pops up in the center of the screen instead of up by the menu bar where it belongs and you type something and it literally does nothing at all visibly and returns no results after 5 minutes. I'd call that BROKEN. If it's doing something, they could at least give a busy animation. It just sits there in this giant over-sized window and looks stupid.

    My old VMware Fusion 5.x is also BROKEN that worked fine in Mavericks (will Apple give me the $80 to upgrade it? I didn't think so and yes it's $80 for 5.x upgrades).
    I already spent $20 to upgrade Carbon Copy Cloner to try out 10.11. That'll make it the most expensive upgrade in the history of OS X at $100 total to get everything working again...oh wait, XtraFinder is now broken as well so trying to use the Finder is like going back to the STONE AGES (yes it's that bad compared to Xtrafinder) and since I have a RAID drive setup, I cannot boot into recovery as far as I can tell to disable rootless mode that might get it to work. Awesome upgrade so far. Everything is working at a snail's pace so far too boot (hoping that's just some spotlight crap and what not updating in the background even though it says I'm at 92% of CPU free (hard drive may be in heavy use or something).
     
  16. Tankmaze macrumors 68000

    Tankmaze

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #16
    I hope someone who can get it to work post their screenshot of the spotlight result and share the settings, etc
     
  17. MagnusVonMagnum, Oct 1, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2015

    MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 601

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #17
    After coming back hours later, Spotlight now finds files (still no indication it's doing anything visually until a result pops up) so I assume it was busy updating internally and too busy to respond earlier (again, an indication it's busy would help a LOT), but a weather for a city type search still doesn't work....

    ...

    Looking through the preference pane, weather isn't a search option on the list. So I just tried some movie names showing and some results for Bing came up in one case and a "MOVIE" came up for Hotel Transylvania 2 which when clicked on in the result pile (you have to scroll down in many cases despite 80% of the screen space there not being used) did bring up local show times so maybe it does work after all. I simply don't see weather as an option for Spotlight. There is a weather option for the notification center, though.
     
  18. muhammadali__ macrumors newbie

    muhammadali__

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    #18


    https://www.apple.com/osx/feature-availability/

    Check here. It answers all your questions.
     
  19. muhammadali__ macrumors newbie

    muhammadali__

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    #19


    https://www.apple.com/osx/feature-availability/


    Check here. it answers all your questions.
     
  20. muhammadali__ macrumors newbie

    muhammadali__

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    #20


    https://www.apple.com/osx/feature-availability/


    Check here. it answers all your questions.
     
  21. seemo_x macrumors newbie

    seemo_x

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    #21
    u r right i think this ability is not available in saudi arabia
     

Share This Page