New SSD Installed - Now What?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by xheathen, Oct 5, 2012.

1. xheathen macrumors 6502

I all,

I went ahead and bought a SSD drive as a way to boost my performance without a new mini model :) So, I bought the kit, got the Samsung 830 series 128gb SSD (on sale for $79!).

Just got it in the mail today - installed in about 30 minutes and everything went OK, but I'm just not sure what to do now.

It booted OK, and the first thing I see is a message that says "The disk you inserted was not readable by this computer - initialize | ignore | eject"

I go into the Disk Utility and it shows the 128gb drive in there.

So now what? Do I hit ignore on the error (I'm just leaving it up for now)? Do I need to format the SSD? What kind of steps do I need to take to use it? Ultimately I want to move all my OS boot stuff to it, but I'm not totally sure how to do that (I'm a windows guy moved over to OSx this year, so I'm a noob :p)

Thanks in advance!

2. xheathen thread starter macrumors 6502

I may have solved my initial problem.

I went into Disk Utility, erased the drive, and then set up 1 partition (just using the default settings for Mac (Journaled). So now it shows up in the Finder just fine and appears to be totally usable.

Now I'm just not sure how to make it my boot drive. I don't want to mirror all my stuff on it. Basically I want my applications and OS to be on the SSD and everything else to be on the original HDD. Is there a way to do this without using some kind of mirror program?

3. Mikey7c8 macrumors regular

Honestly I'd do a reinstall on it if I were you.

But, that being said other people have done the mirror job and it's worked fine for them. :)

I know you're not supposed to have to do re-install's on osx but at least in my case they seem to be fairly beneficial anyway. Of course you will have to re-install whichever apps can't simply be copied over, but you only have to do it the once.

Good luck with whatever you do.