New SuperDuper! releasing tomorrow? (SD! Leopard Compatible now)

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by blodwyn, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. blodwyn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #1
    Couldn't see this posted anywhere else, so according to the shirt-pocket blog, it looks like the Leopard version of SuperDuper may release tomorrow. Yay!

    Quote: For those about to ship… Monday, February 04, 2008
    ...we salute our testers, and the patience of our users.

    It's going to be a SuperDuper! Tuesday.

    UnQuote:
     
  2. nomar383 macrumors 65816

    nomar383

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Rexburg, ID
    #2
    This is supposed to be SuperDuper + TimeMachine right? Like with bootable TimeMachine Backups?
     
  3. blodwyn thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    #3
    I don't know anything about bootable Time Machine backups. I figure (rightly or wrongly) that this is the Leopard compatible version of what SuperDuper always has been
     
  4. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    I think this version is supposed to allow TM backups to reside on the same disk and partition as an SD clone without deleting them when you do an update. Normally SD removes anything on the target that is not on the source, which would remove all TM folders and backups. I don't think it has anything to do with bootable TM backups.
     
  5. stukdog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    #5
    It'll be great to have this app all ready for Leopard. It really is a great tool.

    I like how the blog calls it "SuperDuper Tuesday." (For those not located in the states, tomorrow is Super Tuesday when quite a few states put in their votes for President of the US.)
     
  6. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    It's here! I am cloning my main drive right now. I was getting so tired of CCC constantly telling me the target disk was not available when it was right there all the time. Plus, I never did trust CCC's "smart copy" equivalent; it always seemed to copy far more than was really changed. I have sued SuperDuper! for years and have developed a trust; I hope 2.5 doesn't let me down.
     
  7. TheChemist macrumors regular

    TheChemist

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
  8. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
  9. kfordham281 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #9
    Looks like the traffic is crushing their servers. The forums and blog are down.
     
  10. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #10
    Everything's up, you just likely timed out. Be patient, keep trying. I just finished the d/l and am getting a (way overdue) Smart Backup, and read Dave's blog in the meantime.

    I can breathe a lot easier now!
     
  11. ziwi macrumors 65816

    ziwi

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Right back where I started...
    #11
    Good news for sure. I will be sure to d/l it when I get home later. Great tool and now finally available for leopard.
     
  12. Viremia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #12
    This is great news. I've been waiting for this release. I know some folks who've been using the previous versions with Leopard but I just didn't feel comfortable until an official Leopard compatible release came out.

    Now I can tell Time Machine to go to sleep and stay that way. I don't need both.
     
  13. JWFerne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    #13
    I haven't used SuperDuper. It sounds like it does the same think or closely what Time Machine does. Why would it be needed over or instead of Time Machine?

    I'm sure there's a good reason, i just don't know what it is since I don't use it. I'm a big believer in backups, so I'd love to know.

    Cheers
     
  14. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #14
    The backups from SD! are directly bootable without a Leopard disk (image)
     
  15. JNB macrumors 604

    JNB

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    In a Hell predominately of my own making
    #15
    Although both are backup solutions, SD & TM are completely different. TM captures a baseline, then incremental snapshots of the changes that can be restored discretely for any point in time that TM has been active. SD, on the other hand, maintains a periodic updating clone, that is, you have a perfect copy of the entire environment as of the latest update.

    TM allows for restoration of individual files, apps, emails, etc, that have been deleted months earlier, while SD is what you have now. For example, if I delete an email today, SD's backup tomorrow morning will also have that email deleted from it, whereas TM will allow me to recover the email in a few months if I suddenly need it again.
     
  16. kfordham281 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #16
    Bootable backups. If your HDD crashes just book from your SD backup. Sending your Mac out for repairs? Plug your SD backup into a similar Mac and you're up and running with your data.
     
  17. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #17
    My son does that when he comes home from school for breaks. He just brings his SD cloned hdd with him and plugs it into a Mac here at home, and he is up and running immediately with all of his data. Then he just reverses the clone when he gets back to school and all of his data is back on his own Mac. That is something you can't do (or at least not without a lot of hassle) with Windows or even Linux.
     
  18. displaced macrumors 65816

    displaced

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Gravesend, United Kingdom
    #18
    SD! has repeatedly saved my life. Really pleased to see an update for Leopard compatibility.

    I have 'Do Something When' installed which triggers SD's regular backup automatically whenever my backup disk is connected.

    I've coupled SD with WinClone to cover my BootCamp partition. That's another great backup utility which any BootCamp user should look into!
     
  19. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #19
    That is exactly what I do too, I have two backup drives that I alternate to give that extra level of protection.
     
  20. kfordham281 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    #20
    Sweet! I'm going to give this a try. Thanks for the link.
     
  21. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #21
    Unfortunately I got an error on my first scheduled Smart Update last night. It appears that the update went OK but the "Making Disk Bootable" aborted during the script. I sent feedback to shirt-pocket.
     
  22. durija macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #22
    I don't think I can shell out for another large external after getting one (500 GB) for Time Machine. My iMac has the 320 GB drive. I have a smaller external (120 GB) I could use if the backup is compressed sufficiently. So is the SD backup compressed in any way, or is it a literal clone that will use up exactly as much space as my iMac?
     
  23. kudukudu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #23
    If you don't use the "prepare for restoring on a different partition" option (I don't like the idea of selecting an option that mucks with the current file system as part of making an image/backup), can Winclone restore the image to a replacement drive of a different manufacturer/size as long as it is in the same location (e.g. /dev/disk1s3). The use case I am thinking of here is the hard drive where bootcamp resides dies and I need to buy a new one.

    This quote from the following article makes me uneasy:

    "Prepare for restoring on a different partition: If you’re using Winclone to move a Boot Camp partition to a different volume, check this. Omit this option only if you’ll be restoring to the same partition (in other words, if you’re using the clone as a backup). However, note that when using this option, Winclone actually modifies the existing NTFS filesystem on your Boot Camp partition; if the process is interrupted—for example, if the power goes out or your computer crashes—you could lose data on the Boot Camp partition".

    http://www.macworld.com/article/131253/2007/12/winclone.html
     

Share This Page