New Teacher New to Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by tubalores, Nov 9, 2010.

1. tubalores macrumors member

tubalores

I am so very excited about my recent purchase of a new MacBook! As a former PC user, I am totally impressed with the simplicity and speed of this machine. I am very curious to hear from other teachers--or even others with Macs in general--who know of great programs or features that would be useful in the classroom. I'm a high school English teacher and was curious about the things this baby can really do! :)

2. Tali macrumors member

Hey Tubalores,

I do quite a lot of work in didactics for my local university and we do use Macs quite often. Just a couple of quick things that come to mind:

I know a guy who does some research in teaching lyrics by letting the students record poems and then add sound effects to create the right mood and hence understand the intentions of the author. Garageband is quite good for that, and it comes with your Mac.

If you want to get into Dramas, you can have your students act out scenes and use a camera to capture that (be careful on parent notification and all the signatures you need for that). Scenic interpretation is an awesome approach to get your students to understand the intensions of the characters and the setting of the play. Now if you want to take this one step further, use a Shakespeare play for instance and let the students reenact this in a modern day setting. Make a quick movie about it. The kids will love it and they will about the timeless value of literature (just think about the Romeo and Julia film with Di Caprio that was on a couple of years ago). You can cut basic movies with iMovie (it's real easy too).