New to app development

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Futhark, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Futhark macrumors 65816

Futhark

This question is way down the line for me as I'm only learning my first ever programming language (Objective-C) but something I'm curious about.

How do you write apps that you want to use on different devices? For example iPhone 3G S, iPhone 4/4S & iPad 1/2 & 3rd Gen.

Some of these devices don't have retina display for example then you have iPads that screens are much better anyway.

Do you need to write different versions of your app or what is the process?

Thanks in advance.

2. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

You're getting way ahead of yourself.

First off, Obj-C is not a language you should learn without knowing at least the basics of C first. C may be mixed in anywhere in Obj-C code, and is generally faster and more portable (there are C compilers for pretty much every platform more complicated than a calculator... Obj-C, on the other hand, is much rarer. It can be used on Apple products, and that's about all.)

I'd suggest spending at least two weeks studying C first... Google "Learn C The Hard Way". It's a free ebook. Read and do at least the first 16 exercises or so. More likely, you'll want to spend two months and make it up to the 30th or so exercise, but the first 16ish should be good enough.

After learning C, I'd suggest going straight for the iTunes U videos that Stanford has for iOS development. They'll teach you enough Obj-C throughout those lectures, plus you'll actually be able to do the stuff for iOS devices.