New to Apple and confused!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by derek1984, Dec 29, 2008.

1. derek1984 macrumors 6502a

Okay, I am new to the whole Apple thing and just had a question. In a few months I am going to be buying a Macbook Pro and an iPod touch. I am also going to be buying Audioengine A5 speakers. My question is, what is Airport Express? I guess the Audioengine A5 speakers will work with this but I am not quite sure how. Will I not have to have speakers plugged into the Macbook Pro if I get Airport Express? Just confused as to what Airport Express does and the advatages of having it...Thanks

2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

Airport Express is a wireless router that has a plug for speakers on it. This allows you to plug a stereo into it (the AE) and send music from iTunes to wherever those speakers are. The point is to use iTunes wirelessly to any stereo. Any speakers with a 1/8" mini-jack will work (including your Audioengine).

Real comedian aren't you?

3. jonbravo77 macrumors 6502a

jonbravo77

Nope, I am not. Just pointing out a wealth of information that is at the fingertips. :rolleyes:

4. brentsg macrumors 68030

iTunes library on Mac + Audioengine 5's in a remote location + Airport Express + iPhone (as a remote control) = bliss

5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

SnowLeopard2008

AirPort Express is basically a wireless router that is the same size as the MacBook/Pros power adaptor.

6. the vj macrumors 6502a

LOL, I am totaly agree.

7. derek1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Thanks a lot for your help guys. Would I need to buy any cables or would just the Speakers and Airport Extreme be enough to set it up? Thanks

8. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

From the Airport Express page:

In a nutshell, no cables are provided for you.

However, the appropriate cable is included with the speakers:
    [​IMG]

9. derek1984 thread starter macrumors 6502a