New to Apple, looking at Macbook Pro 15" (Jan08 refresh)

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by johnyip, Dec 7, 2007.

1. johnyip macrumors newbie

Hi,

I am new to Apple and am looking into purchasing a 15" Macbook Pro when the Penryn chipset is implemented.

As an Australian student I qualify for the educational rate (about AUD$300 or so off) and was seeking advice about everything in general. I consider myself very computer literate and religiously use my iPod touch for contacts, calendar videos.

I am wondering, is there a particular way to get Office extra cheap?
    Can I get any freebies through buying it the laptop a certain way? (eg. discount on insurance)
    Do laptop screen/keyboard protectors work, if so what do you recommend?
    Any big Do's/Don'ts when buying Macbook Pro's and accessories?
    Does buying a wired keyboard (for the extra USB ports) and a wireless mouse make sense?
    Is it true that upgrading to a 200GB 7200RPM hard drive offers an instant speed increase of around 10% over any 5400RPM drive?
    Any real advantages to using Vista over XP (through Boot Camp)?

Thanks in advance. I really appreciate your advice.

2. blurb23 macrumors 6502a

People will complain about Vista being buggy and such. However, if you want to use the DX10 capabilities of the 8600, you'll need Vista.

3. Mydel macrumors 6502a

Mydel

If you are a student you can get Office MS through University and usually its just a 20$ or so
    Dont know anything about freebies but never get one and have/had bunch of Macs
    I dont know much about protectors cos Im just careful with my gear but I use Radtech screen protector and its perfect. No keyboard on my screen :p
    I use bluetooth keyboard and mouse due to allergy to wires, and love it. Two USB ports on laptop are OK. If you need more get a hub.
    Didnt notice significant speed increase with 7200RPM drive but Im not en expert. Others will give you more info