Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Hello, I am new to the dongle world of MacBook Pro 2017. If I don't want big adapters to hang near the thin laptop and prefer to put them far away near the external display, what cable should I get? I am still a bit confused about those small ports on this computer. Should I get a Thunderbolt 3 extension cable or USB-C extension cable or...? Any recommendation?

Possible products to use:

Anker USB-C to HDMI adapter to connect to 4K TV@60Hz
CalDigit TS3 Plus (2m)
CalDigit Thunerbolt Station 2

Thanks.

hajime

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jul 23, 2007
Are those ports on the MBP 2017 USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 or they can change depending on what cable or adapter you use? It seems that although there are many Thunderbolt 3 cables, they are of different speeds (something like 20 vs. 40) and of different watts. How do they work really?

seniorstinky

macrumors regular
Feb 22, 2007
Phoenix, AZ
Reactions: hajime

theluggage

macrumors 604
Jul 29, 2011
Are those ports on the MBP 2017 USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 or they can change depending on what cable or adapter you use?

The Thunderbolt 3 ports on the MBP are USB-C* connectors that can do Thunderbolt (20-40Gbs), USB 3.1g1 (5Gbps), USB 3.1g2 (10Gbps), DisplayPort (which can also drive HDMI adapters) and/or charge the computer depending on what you connect and what cable you use.

If you just want to connect a display, and have a free port, a USB-C to DisplayPort or USB-C to HDMI cable should do fine. Check the reviews, though, there are some rubbish ones around - also search MacRumors for recommendations.

If you want a hub/dock with a single cable connection to your laptop for display, charging + USB ports, ethernet, sound etc. then roughly speaking: