New to DSLR photography quick ??

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Soura2112, Mar 28, 2009.

1. Soura2112 macrumors 6502

Can anyone suggest a good book or website to help a newbie when it comes to Aperture 2.0 and mainly DSLR cameras. My camera came with a video I have yet to watch, so I know that will help. I own Aperture 2.0 and Photoshop CS2, though I would like to get Lightroom when I get better.
    Anyway, I am new to this, I come from a videographer and video editor background. I am trying to just learn the basics, I never read a "dummies" book, but this may be a good time. I have seen DSLR and Aperture books in Borders and I browse through them but I am looking for something basic to just get my feet wet. So far I have taken a lot of pictures to mess with though it's time to step it up a bit.
    Typically I just learn stuff on my own, but I already found out I can't figure this one out like that. Way different then Final Cut (well most of it, lol)
    Thanks in advance!
    Brent

2. GotMyOrangeCrus macrumors regular

Believe it or not but those dummy books can be really helpful for getting a basic understanding of something. They usually cut through all of the BS and focus on the most important things you need to know when getting started.

3. Doylem macrumors 68040

Doylem

Aperture, Photoshop, Lightroom... If you're trying to tackle any of these pro applications from a standing start, I'm not surprised you're confused.

Maybe iPhoto would provide an easier learning curve, as you're new to DSLRs too... :)

4. uMac macrumors 6502

If your a Dummy...

Those Dummy books are helpful if you need to start from scratch.

Also another Suggestion is find someone (online or in person) who has a similar camera to yours. They may be able to give advice.

As for a webiste --> www.flickr.com
    Flickr is all about photographers and there are groups out there for every camera, make and model. You can join for free and start asking questions.