Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Soura2112

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 26, 2008
Can anyone suggest a good book or website to help a newbie when it comes to Aperture 2.0 and mainly DSLR cameras. My camera came with a video I have yet to watch, so I know that will help. I own Aperture 2.0 and Photoshop CS2, though I would like to get Lightroom when I get better.
Anyway, I am new to this, I come from a videographer and video editor background. I am trying to just learn the basics, I never read a "dummies" book, but this may be a good time. I have seen DSLR and Aperture books in Borders and I browse through them but I am looking for something basic to just get my feet wet. So far I have taken a lot of pictures to mess with though it's time to step it up a bit.
Typically I just learn stuff on my own, but I already found out I can't figure this one out like that. Way different then Final Cut (well most of it, lol)
Thanks in advance!
Brent

Doylem

macrumors 68040
Dec 30, 2006
Wherever I hang my hat...
Aperture, Photoshop, Lightroom... If you're trying to tackle any of these pro applications from a standing start, I'm not surprised you're confused.

Maybe iPhoto would provide an easier learning curve, as you're new to DSLRs too... :)

uMac

macrumors 6502
Mar 27, 2007
Canada
If your a Dummy...

Those Dummy books are helpful if you need to start from scratch.

Also another Suggestion is find someone (online or in person) who has a similar camera to yours. They may be able to give advice.

As for a webiste --> http://www.flickr.com
Flickr is all about photographers and there are groups out there for every camera, make and model. You can join for free and start asking questions.

Apr 10, 2007
I wouldn't try to tackle everything once, your only going to overwhelm yourself, I would learn how to use the camera until im comfortable messing with the settings, then move on the the software.