New to ebay question, didn't know where else to ask.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by wangchunggti337, May 17, 2007.

1. wangchunggti337 macrumors regular

wangchunggti337

If you sell an item on ebay are you able to not sell it if you don't get the price you're looking for? Or is that only with a reserve price?

Also, can you take the auction off after it has started?

Can you extend the number of days the auction lasts?

I am new to ebay and don't know much about selling. Wanted to check before I go selling anything.

Thanks!

2. gavd macrumors 6502a

Only sold a couple of things on there myself and that was a while ago so I'm not the best person to answer your questions.

From what I remember the help section of eBay is pretty good though and I'm sure you'll find the answers to your questions there, unless anyone here can help you.

3. Osarkon macrumors 68020

Osarkon

a) Yes, that's only with the reserve price
    b) You can remove the auction as long as no-one has bidded already I believe
    c) I should think so, but perhaps for a price.

Hope that helps. :)

4. mac000 macrumors 6502a

on the home page of ebay.com click on "Live Help" and you'll have a live chat with an ebay correspondent that will answer any of your questions.

5. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

I don't think so, I'm fairly sure you just re-list the item again.

FJ

6. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

xfiftyfour

You can extend an auction if no one has bid on it yet. You can also shorten it if you want.

You can cancel an auction even if people have bid. You just don't get your listing fee back is all.

7. Squonk macrumors 65816

Squonk

I didn't know that. This sounds like one way to avoid a relisting fee. Is that right?

8. rmhop81 macrumors 68020

rmhop81