New to GeekTool?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Turian.Spectre, Sep 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turian.Spectre macrumors regular

Turian.Spectre

Hi, I am new to this program and the things that are in my screenshot is all I got so far. Its pretty hard to find exactly what you want online for these scripts. Would someone please post some Geeklets that they know with a Picture of what theirs looks like and step by step instructions on how to do it? I will Start first.

Firstly you need to download Geektool. You can get it at the following link. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10404/geektool

You can see all the things I have on my desktop in my screenshot.
    If you like to do something similar, here is how. Open GeekTool, click and drag a shell to your desktop. You will see a properties panel show up, in that panel you mostly need to worry about the Command section, Refresh right under that, and the font button that is lower.
    I will start with the Calendar number (23). type or copy/paste this command in your properties panel date +%d. It will mostly likely be very small and black. Click on the button right under the word "style" in your panel. A new window will open. To change the color of your text, theres a button on the top with a T and a colored box next to it. The rest is self explanatory. When you are done you can move on to the next thing.
    You need to drag a new shell to the desktop and make sure its selected. Start the process over. Here are all my commands. A shell is needed for each of them.

day of week date +%A
    month date +%B
    time date +%I:%M
    Am/Pm date +%p
    Next month calendar. #next month cal -m $(date -v+1m +%b)