New to Jail-breaking - questions about starting

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by blue442, Oct 9, 2010.

1. blue442 macrumors newbie

Hey guys, i'm really new to jail breaking.

I saw a great lock screen i wanted to implement a while ago and decided to jail break to give it a go.

now. lol... the first think i **THOUGHT** i should do was patch and upgrade everything to the newest version. Once i did all that, i read the forums and learned my first bit of information.

Upgrading is evil, lol.

so ive been locked with the new bootrom, and 4.1 on my 3GS since the day i decided to do it :p. Now i see that there is a limer1an jailbreak that is available. So, i have some questions about it that i did not see answered in the sticky. Since these are questions that were not specific to limer1an i figured i ought to start a new thread.

So here is the skinny. I have the iphone blizzard authenticator on my phone. I am unsure if i need to remove it before jailbreaking. Will it break this app? In regards to other apps, does jailbreaking remove all apps on your phone (restoring it to what a new phone would be)? I am a little unclear on what will happen to what data is on the phone i guess. I do not need to unlock the phone if that makes a difference.

I appreciate the information, and if i missed something that does answer these questions, feel free to direct me there. Like i said, im a noob ;)

2. AllstarEdison macrumors newbie

AllstarEdison