New to jailbreaking and unlocking

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by marlon71usa, Nov 6, 2011.

1. marlon71usa macrumors newbie

I'm new to the jailbreaking community and wish to pointed in the right direction.

I've just obtained an Iphone 4 with firmware 4.0.2 and baseband 01.59.00.

I want to jailbreak and unlock to use with T-Mobile. I want to go to ios5 while preserving my baseband. I see a bunch of programs ending in snow or rain. I don't want to make a mistake and upgrade my baseband. Will the jailbreak and unlock be unteathered?

Any help appreciated...

2. nebo1ss macrumors 68030

Your baseband is a rare one that can be unlocked. Going to IOS5 is possible but you will get a tethered jailbreak. In case you do not understand a tethered jailbreak means the phone must be plugged into a computer to boot. if you battery runs down and you are not near a computer then you have an unusable phone.

You might want to consider waiting for the untether before you go to ios5.

If you still want to go forward here is a tutorial.

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=17344

This will allow you to update and JB ios5 and keep the 1.59 baseband.
    Be very careful and understand what you are doing because if you update the baseband you
    will not be able to use ultrasnow.

You then use Ultrasnow an application on Cydia to unlock.

3. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

Applejuiced

Right now if you go to 5.0 it will be a tethered JB so I'd wait for an untethered release if I was you.
    Then you will have to build a custom ipsw using pwnage, redsnow or snowbreeze to maintain your unlockable baseband etc...

4. iNipponRyan97 macrumors newbie

iNipponRyan97

Luckily like said above, you have a rare unlockable baseband. The bad news is that if you want to update you have to follow these steps and it will be a tethered jailbreak, meaning you have to connect the iPhone 4 to your computer to restart.