New to Jailbreaking, Please Help

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dgstarr7188, May 11, 2012.

1. dgstarr7188 macrumors newbie

This is my first thread and i have an iPhone 4 16GB. I want to jailbreak it because i want to use it as a mobile hotspot so i can connect to the internet with my iPad 32GB WiFi. We take a lot of trips to California and being able to use Netflix on the road would be awesome for my son. I am not computer stupid i am able to understand most tech jibber but i am a complete novice to Jailbreaking. As i understand, i can NOT downgrade from iOS 5.1.1 to 5.0 because i did not previously save my SHSH files (whatever that means). So as of right now i am stuck with a tethered JB. I would like to know the downside to being tethered first of all. Second, is there anything i should know about all this. Like if you were trying explain this to a beginner, what are some "must know" bits of info. Also, what would be the best way to go with this. Which JB should i use..(insert name here), (insert link here). Should i wait for an un tethered JB?? All that stuff, please inform me!!! LOL...

2. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

ZCherub

Sounds like you're off to a good start. Tethered isn't that bad. The downside it that if you turn off your device, or need a full reboot (as opposed to a re-spring), i.e. - when your battery dies, you need a computer and a program called RedSn0w to reboot your device (although mine boots, all jailbreak features are inaccessible, and mail and Safari don't work until I reboot with a computer).

From what I understand, you need an internet connection for your computer when booting tethered as well (haven't tested it without, but others have without much success).

You are correct - you cannot downgrade to older firmwre without having your SHSH blobs (& APTicket on iOS 5+) saved.

Jailbreaking allows for a lot of great features and customization, and I competely recommend it!

3. dgstarr7188 thread starter macrumors newbie