New to Mac, a few basic Q's.....

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by viktorbravo, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. viktorbravo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #1
    Hi folks. I have been in the Windoze world for many years. My last Mac was a Performa.....

    Anyway, I'm back to Mac with a new MBP, but I am hopelessly tied to windows because of Astronomy CCD imaging software to control my telescope mounts and CCD cameras and calibrating and processing the images.

    I gotta say, this new MBP is a beautiful machine, I mean absolutely beautiful, a work of art to behold. Its a tool with style for sure. I'm very impressed so far with this machine, I mean wow, its just so sexy!

    Q number 1:

    Can I run Windows XP 64 via Boot Camp problem free? If not, I will have to run XP 32 bit, as Vista 64 is problematic with many of my astronomy apps. Big surprise there huh :rolleyes:


    Q number 2:

    Can I migrate FITS files from the Windows side of the computer to the Mac side easily? Like drag and drop kind of thing? Again, I will be using Boot Camp.

    Q number 3:

    Photoshop CS4. I want it, bad. But now I have a decision to make, CS4 for windows or Mac????? Just to clarify, the FITS files that I need to work on with PS will be saved on the Windows side of the computer. So, tough question. What runs CS4 better OS X or Windows? Thats assuming I can get XP 64 to work with Boot Camp. If I can only use 32 bit XP, well thats a no brainer.

    I have many more questions but I will leave it at this for now. Here is a sample of the work that I am trying to accomplish with the Mac since I switched over........

    http://rattlesnakeobservatory.com/M31Trav.html

    Thanks for any insight........
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    1) 64-bit Windows XP is not supported; 64-bit Vista is supported, however. A list of supported versions of Windows can be found here: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1888

    2) Yes, you can with the support of a 3rd party program. One of them avaiale is MacDrive for $50.

    3) CS4 will be 64-bit, but only for Windows. This, coupled with the fact that your files and other Astrophoto software will be on your Windows partition, it might be the most logical to buy CS4 for Windows. However, I'm unsure if you'll see the increased benefits of 64-bit CS4 (which are marginal to begin with) if you're running it in 32-bit Windows XP.

    I'm also very interested to know about your setup. What apps are you running to control your mount/CCDs? MaxIm DL? Images Plus?

    Stunning pic of Andromeda, by the way. :)
     
  3. viktorbravo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #3
    thanks, that info is appreciated.

    For my astro stuff, I am running MaxIm DL 4.6, The Sky 6 Pro, Pulse Guide, Pin Point, Pole Align Max, Focus Max, CCD Inspector, CCD Commander, and all of that is coordinated though the ASCOM hub.

    I have an Alta U16M camera, Astrophysics mount, and Robofocus and use a couple different OTA's on that setup. As you know you dont need much computing power to run all the equipment. My old Toshiba will sit hooked up to the gear and I will control it using remote desktop on the MBP.

    Sounds like good old XP Pro will do the trick for me and I may as well just buy CS4 for Windows.
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Very impressive.

    I've only been dabbling in astrophotography for a little over a year now, so my setup is still relatively primitive with an Orion 80ED Apo, Orion Sirius Mount, and Canon DSLR, but it's been very good for this beginner. :)

    I've been avoiding it for as long as possible, but soon I'll need to get Boot Camp running in order to install MaxIm DL.
     
  5. viktorbravo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #5
    You can get some great images with that setup. The only reason I have Maxim is that I bought it a very long time ago. However, using CCD Commander and the ASCOM hub, I could used either Maxim or CCDSoft to run the camera it really doesnt matter.

    For the DSLR, buddies of mine that use them rave about Images Plus. Also, google Chuck Vaughn, he has done some outstanding stuff with the new and very inexpensive Orion CCD camera.

    I'm sure you know, where you really want to spend your money is on the mount. A good mount like a Losmandy or better will give you a much higher satisfaction to frustation ratio. The mount is 90% of it, well as is dark and transparent skies......

    You dont need alot of money to get good astro images. I have been imaging for years and can tell you that you need decent equipment, but not top of the line stuff to get great images. Aside from the mount, 90% of it is your skill in acquisition and processing. If you have a good mount and have developed your skills, an inexpensive OTA and camera will yield outstanding images.
     
  6. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6
    I've also heard great things about Images Plus, so when I do put Windows on my Mac I'll definitely look into that too.

    So far I'm basically pleased with the Sirius GoTo mount. Some shots come out with some trailing, and so far I've attributed this to a lack of guiding and breeze. Usually I just take twice as many frames as I need, which will ensure I have enough usable images. For my level of experience, $1200 was about all I was willing to spend on a mount, but I certainly have my eyes set on a Losmandy if I continue to delve into the field.

    Thank you very much for the advice. :)
     
  7. viktorbravo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    #7
    No matter your level of experience, you cant go wrong with a good mount, it makes everything easier. When your guiding is good and your skies are good, you get good data.

    Thanks for the help, I'm looking forward to seeing how Windows runs on this new MBP!
     

Share This Page