new to mac and need buying advice

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by dexs, Apr 16, 2009.

1. dexs macrumors newbie

Hello people,

As the title says i am new to Macs and need advice.
    I am very interested in buying a Mac. Not sure if i should get a mbp or iMac or an i7 cpu based pc.

Power wise the pc is better when looking as spec but its not always about the power.

I am a pc man and will dual boot windows as well as osx however i am into animation, web design and want to teach myself 3d graphics as well as learn video post production so i need to make sure that i can use the most up to date software in the industry as possible.

Osx is a very nice system to use and i love the way "it just works". its the money that is holding me back though. org sorry people i am just rambling now. could you please give me your thought as i need someone’s views on this.

Thank you and if i have confused you or posted this in the wrong area i do apologise.

Thanks people.

2. techound1 macrumors 68000

techound1

Welcome.

There are some nice buys on iMacs in the refurb store right now. You'll find a lot of refurb fans here so do a quick search for their thoughts on apple's stellar job on those.

3. dexs thread starter macrumors newbie

Thank you for the advice... i will take a gander now.

4. Consultant macrumors G5

Consultant

5. Shake 'n' Bake macrumors 68020

Shake 'n' Bake

Welcome to the world of Mac!

For your computer, I recommend a 24'' iMac. Go for a refurb, they are the previous generation, but a lot cheaper.

If you haven't heard about or seen it yet, Final Cut Studio 2 is one of the best, if not the best video editing-motion graphic packages there is.

If you want to do web design, get Adobe DreamWeaver. Like all Adobe apps, it is expensive, but well worth the cost.

I hope you like your new Mac!

6. dexs thread starter macrumors newbie