New to MAC - Can I run Mac OS on 1 Screen and Windows on another

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Lee.B, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. Lee.B macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #1
    Hi All,

    Im new to MAC.

    I am going to buy a 27" Imac Dual Core and a 24" Cinema Screen.
    I will also purchase paralels desktop.

    My aim is to run MAC os on the 27" screen and Windows 7 on the 24" screen.
    Is this possible?

    Also, in relation to MAC releases - Is it likely a new Imac due soon and should I hold on with my purchase?

    Thanks
    Lee
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Yes, you can do that. I suggest you to get the quad core model though, it's only 300$ more but almost twice as fast plus the upcoming update won't really affect it (only better GPU).
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    If you use Parallels to run Windows, then yes, you can run Parallels, thus Windows in fullscreen.

    The iMac is due for an update, August is likely.
    http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/
     
  4. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    This! Quad Core is the way to go, and for a minimal cost you wil get a substantially faster machine.
     
  5. Lee.B thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #5
    Thanks everyone.

    Im in UK, the QuadCore seems to be out of stock everywhere.

    Lee
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    I'm sure some stores have them, if not, buy online. i5 is as low as 1379£ off the refurb store
     
  7. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #7
    Question: Is it possible to run Windows on one screen and Mac OS on another without Parallels? Are there other options for this? I have never needed Windows for anything up until recently.
     
  8. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #8
    You can use VMWare Fusion, which is pretty similar to parallels. Otherwise you have to do bootcamp, and you can't run both at the same time with that.
     
  9. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #9
    Thanks. In your opinion which is the better option. They are both comparable in price so it comes down to performance for me. They appear to offer just about the same thing.
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Searching the forum with MRoogle will usually find answers to most of your questions:

    VMware Fusion 3 vs. Parallels Desktop 5 - Mac Forums
    Parallels or VMware Fusion? - Mac Forums
    CrossOver vs Parallels vs Fusion - Mac Forums
    Vmware Fusion 3 or Parallels 5 for a MBA RevC - Mac Forums
     
  11. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #11
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    I didn't assume anything. I simply posted information. Use it or don't. I don't care.
     
  13. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #13
    Fixed for clarity.
     
  14. mac2x macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    #14
    MAC ≠ Mac. MAC is the MAC address related to networking...Mac is the computer. ;)
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #15
    The information about using a search engine is information, as well. Just because you get overly sensitive about it doesn't diminish the fact that it's information. :rolleyes:
     
  16. Man-Droid macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Tampa, Fl
    #16
    I have no problem with people that post useful information. I thanked you for that. In my opinion you were being slightly snarky with the search remark. Whatever, I'm not going to get in my fighting stance over this. Thanks again. End
     

Share This Page