New to Mac - How to display picture on MSN?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by cpp, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. cpp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    #1
    Very new to the Mac world, just bought my first Macbook pro last week! I am having a difficult time to display picture on MSN. I keep getting a message saying that the picture needs to be the right format. I tried to google for solutions but dont think there is any. Can someone on this forum help me with this please?
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    I'm not familiar with the official client, but it's straightforward enough in Adium.
     
  3. Xapphire13 macrumors regular

    Xapphire13

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Location:
    South Australia
  4. Vivid.Inferno macrumors 6502

    Vivid.Inferno

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #4
    I've never been able to get it to work. I switched to Adium. I also like aMsn. I find that sometimes adium stops working, so than i use aMsn....than aMsn stops working...so I switch back to adium lol
     
  5. Mike Macintosh macrumors regular

    Mike Macintosh

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Washington State
    #5
    the official MSN agent never really suited my fancy, I find myself using Adium more then anything now, I suggest using that.
     
  6. TheAngusBurger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    #6
    I'd also recommend Adium. Fantastic little app.
     
  7. andrew upstairs macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Location:
    Downtown Los Angeles
  8. completeidiot23 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    #8
    vote for adium

    never could get that problem fixed in the Messenger:mac.

    I downloaded adium and changed it so everything looks like ichat.

    Really neat and takes up little room on the screen
     
  9. Rampant.A.I. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    #9
    Adium is superior in just about every way to both MSN and iChat. The only thing it's missing is video chat capability.
     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    Okay, okay, I think the OP gets the message. 8 votes for Adium ought to be enough. :rolleyes:

    Personally, the only app I use for video chat is Skype.
     
  11. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Cool suggestions.

    side question is there an adium app for iPhone users? PM me if there is something similar, thanks.
     
  12. Tomb85 Guest

    Tomb85

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #12
    If you don't wanna use Adium though you need to go to sign out, then clear the accounts. Then sign in all over again. This will allow you to choose a display picture. For some reason after you install the MSN client then set it up for first time use it won't let you have a display pic. No idea why. Clearing accounts will sort it for you.
     
  13. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #13
    Not yet. I use Fring, but it's not particularly good.
     
  14. DeepIn2U macrumors 68040

    DeepIn2U

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #14
    Fring!

    Sickness! I'm familiar with Fring on S60 and how modular it is and continued to grow. I didn't know it was available for iPhone.

    Excellent suggestion, and downloading.
     

Share This Page