Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Karman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2009
Hey guys,

So i'm new to Mac (and to the world of Labtop's!) and I just got my MBP 15" 2.53 GHZ Intel Core Duo in the mail on November 5th. I'm a little confused about the battery though!

So one of my friends tried to explain it to me, but I don't really understand what battery-loadcycles are? Can someone please explain this to me?
Also, he told me to download CoconutBattery, which I did, but i'm at a lost on understanding what everything means when you open up the app. Can someone please explain to me what I have to do in order to keep my battery at Maximum capacity and keep it in good condition?

Another thing, I normally only use my MBP for school and when I get home for HW. So basically, when I get to school in the morning, I use it for about 2 hours for one class, and then turn it off. It's off for about 1 to 2 hours. Then later, I turn it back on again for my next class, and by the time I get home the battery's at 50%-40%. My screen brightness is set to the minimum, bluetooth is off, and the keyboard LED is also off. However, I have a couple of questions about this:

1) is it better to use the battery off the charger/main power source all the time? Say if its always at 100%? Will this still change anything with the loadcycles?

2) Should I plug in my Battery when its at 50%-40$% to get it back to 100% before I go to sleep at night (it would be plugged in for at least 7-8 hours while I sleep) or should I leave it, and just take it to school the next day with that percentage and wait until i get home the next day to plug it in?

3) It is bad for me to turn off my MBP completely in between classes? It would be off for like 1-2 hours? Or should I just close the top and leave it in Sleep mode?