New to Mac: Mini or MBP?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by ChrisR244, May 5, 2013.

1. ChrisR244 macrumors newbie

Hey guys, new convert here. About 8 months ago when I started work, I was given a Macbook Pro laptop (2010ish model). I also bought my first iPhone, an iPhone 5, and love it. I'm personally using a custom-build Windows tower (AMD Athlon 2 x4 620, 8 gigs of RAM, Radeon 4670 graphics). I think I'm ready to jump ship to a Mac and convert to the ecosystem, considering all the software I use is either Mac specific of multi-platform.

I'm a systems administrator and work with both Linux and Windows systems. I'm also a photographer, so photo editing in Photoshop would probably be the most intensive thing I do. I also own an iPad and love the thing. I really don't anticipate the need for anything mobile - the iPad does everything I'd need to do on the road, so I'm looking for more of a desktop option.

Right now my favorite is a spec'd out Mac Mini. Besides the graphics card, the thing blows my desktop out of the water, and it's so small. A Macbook Pro wouldn't be bad either, but I'd probably use it in clamshell mode 90% of the time, so I'm not sure if it's worth it. I've looked at the iMacs, but I'm not a fan of the all-in-one type units.

For those in similar situations, would you go for a Macbook Pro, even if it'd be used as a desktop 90% of the time, or would a Mac Mini be the way to go? I've seen a lot of people with Macbook Pro's as their desktop, but the Mini doesn't seem to have much of a following ;)

2. dan1eln1el5en macrumors 6502

dan1eln1el5en

if you had no mac experience, I would say go with the mini.

But then you have tried a 3 year old MBP, then I would stick with that to be honest.

Unless the MBP you are looking at is the Retina version.

Reason: the MBP's (non-retina) currently available look and almost same as in 2010 (I suppose it's the unibody) the upgrade wouldn't be significant...