New to Mac OS.

Discussion in 'macOS' started by VertPin, Jan 1, 2016.

1. VertPin macrumors 6502

VertPin

Any tips for beginners? I have been using Windows since 98. Any specific shortkeys?

Many thanks in advance! I LOVE this thing (have owned an early 2015 MBP 13 R since November)

Looking to become an advanced users, shortcuts, kernal, etc, administrator functions etc

2. zone23 macrumors 68000

3. Isamilis macrumors 6502

OSX do not need much admin skill to tune up and clean up like Windows. Most of the tune up tools available for Mac basically don't add much significant benefits over the standard tools from the OS.
    So, just enjoy the new experience. It's time for you to sleep well because you have paid more for this machine.

If you still interest more techie stuff, I would advice to learn apple script, and UNIX command line as it will help a lot for doing batch process (i.e. Copy bunch of files over network and do something else when completed etc). FYI, I was an Oracle DBA and UNIX Sysadmin few years ago. I have some virtual machines (parallel desktop) - Linux, OSX and Windows, JIRA and MySQL servers installed in my MacBook Air.

4. VertPin thread starter macrumors 6502

VertPin

I am interested in learning more of the command line. I am a network administration major. It's been a while since I took a UNIX related class, and it was "intro to UNIX 140"...yeah. Pretty simple stuff.

5. bobdamnit macrumors regular

This is a very basic, but very necessary read for understanding the command line utility Terminal in OS X. Its short, sweet, and very informative. Give it a read.

http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/introduction-to-the-mac-os-x-command-line

Here is a basic cheat sheet of every basic command line parameter known with a description of what they do. It has all the ones you'll use the most, and a few that can get you into trouble. Use it mainly as a reference sheet.