Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

goinskiing

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 25, 2008
Meridian, ID
I have been keeping my eye on these forums for several months now and have to say that I love it here! Lots of useful, information and a wonderful community.

So, I have been saving for the last few months and finally ordered my 15.4" MacBook Pro 2.4 GHz this morning and couldn't be more excited! :D

I look forward to participating in the Mac community (my first Mac), the hard part now is just waiting for it to come, it has already shipped and should be here on June 30 (after I get back from vacation).

I work as an IT Technician at a law firm and one of the partners there finally asked me for a recommendation on a laptop (he's a lawyer by day and artist by night and already had a 30" Cinema Display). Long story short he got three, yes three laptop PCs in a row that were, either 1) slow 2) buggy or 3) faulty. He got three straight lemons. I said, you should get a MBP (he needed portability) so he drove me down to the Mac Distributor in town and he picked out the 17" 2.6 with the works (he's a lawyer). He had me set it up with parallels to run his law software. Let's just say that was when I fell in love. It was beautiful, easy to connect to the network, pulled it out of the box and it just worked. I have been using PCs from since I was a VERY young kid (though I remember using the old green screen Macs in Elementary School). I was amazed at how easy it was to use OSX. After a day of playing with his new MBP, I had to go back to my Vista x64 desktop (which isn't too shabby) and it just felt clunky, awkward, and definitely not as pretty.

Anyways, just thought I'd share and let you know that I may be on here asking for advice from time to time to learn shortcuts, hotkeys, and all the hidden goodies in OSX.

goinskiing

neiltc13

macrumors 68040
May 27, 2006