New to Mac, want some help understanding a few things

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by vchalupa, Jan 24, 2008.

1. vchalupa macrumors member

I'm new to Mac, I'm planning on buying the "low end" Macbook Pro before I go to college and I'm looking to buy a few things for it. The MBP will have 2GB RAM and either a 200 GB (7500 RPM) or 250 GB (5400 RPM) hard drive.

For example, I know Macs can now run Windows and I'm hoping Vista stabilizes by this summer...only hoping...I need to run Vista so that I can still run some of my Windows based programs. Does it matter which Vista I get? For example, would running Home Premium be faster than running Ultimate? I'm planning on eventually upgrading to 4 GB but for now how will the performance be with the 2 GB RAM?

As a college student, I'd like to backup all my files to an external HD and probably connect a mouse and keyboard and who knows, maybe even a monitor at some point. I don't want to have to connect every cable every time I want to use this stuff. So does Apple have a "docking station" for it's laptops or am I better off going with a universal port replicator? I'd prefer something that's made for the Mac laptops because I'm not thrilled with a USB connection from the port replicator because I'm afraid it'll suck up my CPU power. I'd prefer either some sort of serial connection or Firewire connection so that I don't kill my CPU for simply connecting extra ports.

Price isn't a HUGE issue for me right now, I'd just like to know what's out there so that this transition becomes easier.

Thanks!

2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

EricNau

No, it doesn't matter which version you get (although, I wouldn't recommend purchasing a version beyond your needs, simply for money reasons).

And no, Apple doesn't make a docking station.

3. vchalupa thread starter macrumors member