New to Mac what should I Know?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Medic278, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Medic278 macrumors 6502a

Medic278

Hello all I am new to Mac in November of 2011 I decided I needed to replace my desktop and after being happy with my iPhone and iPad I bought the 27' iMac and then two days ago I decided I wanted a MacBook and purchased the upgraded 13' Macbook Pro because I wanted something small and easy to carry. So my question is what can I expect and can I link the two computers to share documents? Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

2. D.T. macrumors 603

D.T.

Howdy!

Sharing files between the two is relatively simple, and there's a number ways to do it:

1) On the same network, setup shares on both machines (usually your Public folder), then you can move files back-and-forth, or even to a 3rd machine (generally folks designate sort of a "master" for version control).

2) Setup a peer-to-peer network directly between machines, this is generally more of a temporary type approach when you're outside your network

3) Use a sharing service like DropBox, which has the advantage of allowing access to files outside your network from a number of different devices (including iOS).

3. simsaladimbamba

4. Medic278 thread starter macrumors 6502a

Medic278

Thnaks for the help I noticed both computers have Airdrop and wonder if i can use that? Also can I add widgets are if so what are the must haves?

5. Mojo1 macrumors 65816

Get a copy of David Pogue's "Missing Manual" series for Lion. If it isn't available yet it will be shortly...

I recommend it to new Mac owners as well as Old Hands. I've been using Macs for 15+ years and I always keep a copy around.

6. D.T. macrumors 603

D.T.

Yeah, Airdrop is the Apple version of #2 on my list. It's particularly neat if you're in a situation where you want to exchange files with someone, but aren't on a common network.