New to Mac, what software?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by solchitlins, Nov 23, 2009.

1. solchitlins macrumors regular

Hi.
    I'm going to get a New base model Mac Mini or a refurbished Mac Mini.

Being a broke college student I'm a little confused on what software I should get.

Should I buy MS Office for the Mac or just run it through Window's?
    I have a copy of Window's 7 and MS Office small business for pc.

Is that going to be a pain in the butt to do my homework and manage office files on my Mini if I have to run it through Window's on the Mini?

I guess I don't understand what to expect. Is it like dual booting a pc, like how I use my pc with Linux and Windows?

Also what do I do with all my documents, pics, mp3's etc.... when I make the switch?

Can I put them on a thumb drive and just transfer them over to the Mac or won't that work?

I would prefer to keep my music collection in MP3 format, seeing how it's all been painstakingly ripped using" exact audio copy with lame encoding". There's not much but I'm pleased with the results.

but my Sansa clip plays "apple" format anyways I think.

Or should I "now that I'm switching to a Mac" start changing formats over to itunes default format and encoding techniques.

My PC is old and outdated and would like to eventually phase it out completely.

2. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

GimmeSlack12

First of all, get the idea of "changing formats" out of your head. You don't need to change the formats of anything (music, pictures, documents, anything). There are very few formats nowadays that are not universally compatible on both Mac and Windows.