New to Mac what to know

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Budiosx, May 25, 2013.

1. Budiosx macrumors regular

Budiosx

I'm new to mac after 10 years of using pc i bought macbook pro high end model not retina yesterday because of big sale on it.
    I need to know the essential programs that take place windows programs on my mac .
    I'm confused as i'm new to mac and don't know to start from where.

2. Lunfai macrumors 65816

Lunfai

What kind of applications are you looking for? Microsoft office is a must have, but you can also get the apple alternatives with pages etc.

3. Budiosx thread starter macrumors regular

Budiosx

The replacement for those apps:

-Internet download managers that downloads files and also youtube videos.

-alternative movie player to quicktime that play all kind of video formats.

-best internet security for mac like kaspersky in windows.

4. negativzero macrumors 6502

My replies in red

5. Budiosx thread starter macrumors regular

Budiosx

6. B... macrumors 68000

B...

Yes- go to the Mac App Store app on your computer to see all of them.

7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Read the links for app suggestions in the link I posted.

8. Budiosx thread starter macrumors regular

Budiosx

9. TC400 macrumors 6502a

TC400

Get free memory from the app store so you can monitor your RAM usage.
    SMC Fan control so you can monitor your CPU
    CCleaner so you can clean up your Mac every once in a while.
    Mactubes lets you download youtube videos.

Congrats! And enjoy your new Macintosh :apple:

10. saberahul macrumors 68040

I remember my switch - beginning was new as I had to get used to it. Once you're up and running and understand the system well - you will not regret getting it.

Helpful places:
    1. Mac basics forum on macrumors
    2. App Store for apps
    3. Youtube for new to mac videos

11. oblomow macrumors 68020

oblomow

libreoffice
    vlc
    adium
    omnigraffle
    vienna
    firefox
    cord