Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iMacXpress

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2011
USA
Hello, MacRumors. I am new to Mac coming from a PC since forever.

I currently own the new 13" Macbook Air. :apple:

My questions are:

1. How do you know which tabs/apps are open?
  2. How do you you rearrange the dock/move items to the desktop?
  3. How do you right click?
  4. I currently have Microsoft Office Home & Student Edition 2011 and I am currently taking CSIS 115 which is Introduction to Microcomputer Applications. Will it transfer to a Windows computer? To be specific, Windows XP and Windows Vista.

Any tips, answers, suggestions, etc will be greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

* I am learning as I explore this Mac. Completely different everything coming from a PC all my life.

dusk007

macrumors 68040
Dec 5, 2009
1. There is usually a small white dot in the dock at all applications which are open. In some Lion beta it was disabled in case that is the new default I highly recommend enabling it again. It just saves energy if there isn't all the nonsense runnning all the time.
2. Just click hold and move the items around. Everything you move once will stay were you put it. Stuff that is not always in the dock will be appended at the right side in the order the apps are started.
It effectively works exactly the same as in Windows 7 (default).
Though for the future the dock is rather useless for managment thus I would minimize it and get it out of the way. Use a launcher like Alfred and or set it to slide in when required. CMD+option+D is the short cut for this. Otherwise it just takes a lot of screenspace for no real benefit.

As to which Windows are open? Just use Expose or Mission Control as the new stuff is called. There is a keyboard key for it (F3). And a four finger touchpad swipe down triggered it too.