New to mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by corbyone, Feb 28, 2012.

1. corbyone macrumors newbie

I've been lurking for a while and reading lots of posts and well I finally ordered my 1st mac. :DI ordered a 15 inch macbook pro 2.2 i7 with 750 GB HD, 4gb ram, 6750 1GB, Glossy w/ Lion installed. I'm a computer teacher but always been a PC guy even at the school I work at so other than my ipad and iphone. I am new to the whole mac world. I'm excited and sure will be posting in the future about upgrades (SSD and ram)/ issue (who knows) I may have. I was wondering if there were any tips for 1st time setup?

Also if anyone can recommend must have programs or apps that will help with everyday tasks and functions? Thanks in advance.

-Rick:)

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

3. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

heisenberg123

great apps for me are

handbrake - for ripping dvd's

vlc player - plays all video formats(also its needed to decoded dvd so you can use handbrake)

burn - great for making dvds/cds

caffein - keeps mac from going to sleep or the screen from dimming(good for when you reading some big or watching a video)

iStatPro (great widget for dashboard that gives system info)

hyperdock - (windows 7 like features, hover mouse over any icon in dock to see a preview of the open windows of that app, drap a window to the top of screen to maximize the window, etc)

thats all i can think of on the top of my head that i use, im not currently on my mac

4. corbyone thread starter macrumors newbie

5. Mojo1, Feb 28, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012

Mojo1 macrumors 65816

Check out "The Missing Manual: Lion" by David Pogue. Chock-full of info and easy to read. I've been a Mac user since 1995 and I always keep a copy handy. The Kindle edition is less than $10.

Essential apps: