New to macs problem with firefox

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Dobbs2, Aug 3, 2009.

  1. Dobbs2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #1
    I just got home with a new imac and trying to get use to OSX. Ok first thing I did after getting it connected to my time capsule was download firefox 3.5. I can't just throw the wife in the deep end like me. When I did that it left this icon on the screen and I don't know what to do. The only option is to eject and when I try that it tells me I can't.
     
  2. hugorganista macrumors member

    hugorganista

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    AZ
    #2
    Ok, did you already install Firefox?

    If not, click on the icon.

    Drag Firefox into the Applications folder.

    Close the icon and eject it.


    Then launch Firefox from the applications folder or drag firefox into the Dock. so you can launch from there.
     
  3. filmweaver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #3
    Read the manual an how to install MAC software. It really is allot easier then Windows. Or just google it.
     
  4. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #4
    I have installed it and its currently what I'm using to look at the forums. I took a screen capture to show its in my dock and on the desktop. When I try and drag it to the applications folder like I did earlier today it just makes a copy there and still leaves it on the desktop.
     
  5. filmweaver macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #5
    Try watching this.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFoQDqBbMes&NR=1

    Hope it helps!
     
  6. Dobbs2 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    #6

Share This Page