New to Macs - selecting the right one?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Casse, Apr 18, 2010.

1. Casse macrumors newbie

Hope you all don't mind helping out a total newbie to Macs.

I've been driving myself a bit "batty" trying to select the "right" notebook for my use. I'll admit to being a numbers girl not a "techie" so a lot of the information on this board and the reviews I've read are way way way over my head :eek:

My HP business notebook is several years old and needs replaced.

We have several Apple products in our home and love the ease of use and want my next notebook computer to be a Mac :apple:

I've narrowed it down to 3 possibilites - price appx. w/ company discount:

13" Macbook - $800
    2.26GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    2 GB RAM

13" Macbook Pro - $1100
    2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    250GB Serial ATA Drive @ 5400 rpm
    4 GB RAM

Released this week:
    15" Macbook Pro - Range $1700 to $2000
    Intel Core i5
    2.4GHz OR 2.53GHz
    320GB Serial ATA Drive@5400 rpm OR 500GB Serial ATA Drive@7200
    15-inch Glossy Widescreen Display OR Hi-Res Antiglare Widescreen
    4 GB RAM

Main uses - Internet, Pictures (scrapbook), Video, spreadsheets/word

Any help figuring out which one to purchase would be appreciated! I need to make a decision soon and I'm strugling with whether spending the extra money is worth it?

Oh and I don't live anywhere near an Apple retailer so I can't go see these ahead of time.

Thanks for any help!

2. gatepc macrumors 6502

gatepc

Correction to your post ( you mean GBs ram not MBs on the ram )

For what your doing with the computer you can easily get away with the cheapest 13 inch model.

3. Agnel macrumors member

You might want to think about buying apple care if you don't want to spend 250 - 300 bucks in the next 3 years(incase you have a problem).

3 more questions :

Are you thinking about resale value?
    How many years are you planning to use this laptop for?