Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

moddy007

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 16, 2012
Hey guys, this is my first thread and I am totally new to the MacBook Pro which I plan on buying next week. I need suggestions as to what should I look for or ask the apple folks once I enter the store, in order to get the correct machine. I want the Samsung Retina. Will also be installing windows 7.

1) What I mean to say is, is there any thing in particular that I must be aware of before buying the MacBook Pro?

2) Are there any known issues?

3) Do I need to see any serial number or something on the box?

4) I will be using windows 7 primarily and need to know about driver installation for all the components and compatibility issues if any.

5) Dos and donts.

6) Any other recommendations are welcome.

marsmissions

macrumors 6502
Jan 5, 2010
Washington, US
Boot camp is pretty straight forward. Drivers are provided on a disk in the box usually, but this may have changed since 2008.

Give OS X a try before you start using windows 7 as your daily driver, you might be surprised. It's quite a learning curve, but it's so amazing once you get used to it.

Barna Biro

macrumors 6502a
Sep 25, 2011
Zug, Switzerland
Biggest don't: Don't use it for Windows primarily.
Gosh man, you got an Apple product so that you can use it as a PC?
Throw it out the window now and get yourself a normal notebook!

marsmissions

macrumors 6502
Jan 5, 2010
Washington, US
Biggest don't: Don't use it for Windows primarily.
Gosh man, you got an Apple product so that you can use it as a PC?
Throw it out the window now and get yourself a normal notebook!

Why? MacBook pros offer a build quality and standard of beauty that pc Manufacturers are trying to copy and aren't getting right.

Barna Biro

macrumors 6502a
Sep 25, 2011
Zug, Switzerland