New to me 12 core Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by blacka4, Nov 18, 2014.

  1. blacka4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #1
    Can someone give me the low down on 10.10 on this machine??

    I plan on adding a SSD drive for OS eventually and use it to replace the mini server i have now, as I can cut down on enclosures.

    I have tried to read all the threads but I'm a little overwhelmed.

    TIA
     
  2. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
  3. blacka4, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014

    blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #3
    this is going to seem stupid, but is there any way I can upgrade to Mavericks? i don't want 10.10 right now
     
  4. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #4
    ^^^^Doesn't sound stupid at all. There must be a reason you want to run Mavericks.

    I could find no sites that I would trust to download Mavericks, and I could not find it at Apple, though I could find all the updates. If you can not find it, I have a 10.9 USB flash drive Install Disk. I would be happy to copy it for you, if you can send me an 8GB flash drive and a return self addressed stamped padded envelope.

    Lou
     
  5. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #5
    i just wasn't sure if I wanted to run Yosemite yet. I have it installed now and seems to be running great. Not sure I like the color scheme but i might get used to it who knows.
     
  6. m4v3r1ck, Nov 18, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2014

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    New to me 12 core Mac Pro


    I have the same experience, still testing some apss, but so far happy with OSX 10.10!

    Just give it some time to fiddle with it and adjust it to your needs and likings!

    Cheers
     
  7. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #7
    yeah I'm going to give it a few days, I don't use the machine all the time so it will probably grow on me.

    Does anyone know where I can get power consumption results for the Mac Pro and mini?/ I know the mini uses way less but I am seriously considering moving all my server stuff to my pro, and really I wouldn't need server anymore because all I would be hosting is a iTunes library to my apple tv's
     
  8. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #8
    Best way to compare is to hook your MP / Mini with all peripherals to a Watt Consumption Meter!

    [​IMG]

    Cheers
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^The readout on my APC UPS has various options, the one I have open is power consumption in watts. I find it useful, especially when I put a load on my GPU and I can see the consumed power climb.

    Lou
     
  10. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #10
    A very elegant option Lou you have in your UPS, but yet only for a comparison a costly way to go! Do you have power failures often? Do you have only one for your MP and all peripherals?
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    ^^^^I live in Southern Arizona and we have very few power failures here. My UPS is 1500 VA and has 10 output connections. 5 are surge protected and 5 are battery backup. And yes, all my peripherals, except my 2 printers, are attached to it.

    Lou
     
  12. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #12
    i'm gonna have a rack mount one apc eventually, borrowing it from work
     
  13. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #13
    For what it's worth, when I had my oMP and 2 external HDs connected to my APC (Smart UPS XL). All 5 lights (power consumption were lit up). I now have a MP, and 4 external HDs connected (2 of which were the same). Only 2 lights of power consumption are on. If I shut off the external drives, only 1 light remains. Amazing how little power the MP consumes.

     
  14. blacka4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #14
    I have a few other questions, One, Any idea where i can get a HDD sled? i'm missing number 2

    and second, Would I benefit from a SSD for my system drive?
     
  15. Zorn macrumors 6502a

    Zorn

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    You'd absolutely benefit. There are a few things to keep in mind though:

    The Mac Pro drive sleds are not compatible with 2.5" SSDs out of the box. You need to purchase an adapter (OWC makes one that's on the expensive side, there's one by Newer Technology on Amazon that's about $14 which works just as well) assuming you want to connect the SSD to a SATA2 HD bay - more on that below.

    Mac Pros (2009-2012) only support SATA2 3GB/s. Most modern SSDs are going to be capable of SATA3 6GB/s. It would be recommended to purchase something like the Apricorn Velocity, which will let you attach the SSD to one of your PCI slots at full speed. This costs about $50.

    If you have the budget, the very best option is to purchase a PCIe SSD like what is in the nMP and rMBP. This also requires a PCI adapter which is currently $10, but the drive itself will be much more expensive. Expect to pay about $300 for the 512GB version or $600 for the 1TB. This will give you the very best performance though by far.
     
  16. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #16
    It's possible to hold an SSD in place with gaffer tape as they are so small & light.

    Using an Apricom card will more than double the performance of the SATA3 SSD.
     

Share This Page