New to MPs, and need buying advice/confirmation...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Killerbob, Jan 26, 2008.

1. Killerbob macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I am totally new to Apple, but have been building high-end PCs myself the last 15 years. It has taken me a while to be ready to convert, but the arrival of the latest MPs has totally convinced me :apple:

I am thinking of buying from the local Apple store;
    MP 2x2.8GHz 8-Core, 2GB RAM, 320GB HD, NVidia 8800GT (upg), 2xSuperdrives (upg), Airport Extreme Card (upg), and 1 ACD 30", or 2 23"s. Also, 1 Time Capsule 1TB.

... and then buying a few updates elsewhere; 8GB RAM kit, 2x750GB SG 7200.11, and LogiTech Z5500 Speakers.

My questions (of course I have more, but this is just get me off the ground):

- Should I install the 8GB kit AND the original 2GB RAM, or is the original 2GB a loss?

- Is a total of 8GB RAM enough - I will run OSX, Adobe applications for lots of picture manipulation, and some video editing/encoding, WHILE running Parallels, or Fusion, with Vista Ult. (2GB RAM dedicated)?

- Should I get the single 30" ACD, or 2 23"s? I also play a lot of games, so I am leaning towards the single 30", but I would actually get more desktop with 2x23"s.

- Can I connect the Z5500 via the optical connection, and will the MP then recognise the 5.1 speaker system?

- What is the transfer rate I can expect between a Time Capsule and the WiFi Card in the MP? They are both 802.11n, but will be some 5 meters apart.

- Will I be able to use the Time Capsule for Time Machine before the update to 10.5.2?

- I would set up the HDs with the 2xSG 7200.11s in Raid0 for OS, Applications, and Data (three partitions), and use the std. 320GB HD as a scratch drive. Any comments?

Thanks in advance for helping me make the right decisions :confused:

2. CalfCanuck macrumors 6502a