New to OS 9!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kingcrowing, Feb 1, 2008.

1. kingcrowing macrumors 6502a

kingcrowing

Hey, I just got an iBook G3 and it's got OS 9 on it right now but it has no internet program and I'm a little stumped on how to install it as I've never used OS 9 much before. In OS X its .dmg files to install programs, but what is it for OS 9? It looks like Opera is the best browser for OS 9 so that's probably what I'd want to get and I think version 7 was the last one so if anyone could help me out that'd be great! I found some .sit apps but I can't get those to install without stuffit and I downloaded stuffit and only found it for os 9 as a .sit or as a .hqx and that dosen't seem to work either!
    Help!

2. elppa macrumors 68040

elppa

The OS should come with Netscape Navigator 4.7 (I think) and Internet Explorer 5. Stuffit used to be bundled as well (try a search?). If these aren't there then it sounds like a custom install was done.

Neither of these give you a very accurate impression of what the internet looks like in 2008.

You may be able to find Netscape 6, which has a better rendering engine, but is incredibly slow (GUI stuff). Goodness knows what it was written in!

Opera is a good bet, as is iCab. This is OS X only now (uses WebKit), but their are old version available to download (as a .sit file).

Apps on OS 9 were distributed using a mixture of compression techniques. Most of them have installers as well.

3. kingcrowing thread starter macrumors 6502a

kingcrowing

Well theres no netscape and and no IE lol it was from a school I guess and everything was taken off, but how do I install a .sit file?? It says theres no program associated with it when I try and open it in OS 9

4. Unspeaked macrumors 68020

Unspeaked

You need Stuffit Expander to open a .sit file.

5. elppa macrumors 68040

elppa

No it wasn't. Launched in 2002 it was a Mac OS X app only.