New to OSX. Need a little help.

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by RXDI, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. RXDI macrumors newbie

    RXDI

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #1
    My OCD is kicking and I can't figure out how to change the network name for my MBA.

    My Windows network and other devices in the house are showing my MBA as "mackbookair-7574" on the network and can't figure out where to change it. I actually can't even find any other reference to this name on the machine.

    I had thought you changed this name in the Sharing section, but I have changed it to "MBA" and it still shows the 7574 name. What am I missing here?

    My Settings
    [​IMG]
     
  2. dknightd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #2
    try clicking "edit" next to computer name. See what is says there.
     
  3. RXDI thread starter macrumors newbie

    RXDI

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
  4. Mac-Michael macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #4
    Type NetBIOS in the System Preferences search field.
     
  5. RXDI thread starter macrumors newbie

    RXDI

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #5

    BINGO! Thanks man, that was really bugging me. Question solved.
     

Share This Page