New To Photography

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by deano411, Apr 30, 2011.

1. deano411 macrumors newbie

Hey Guys,
    I know there's a few photographers on here, I've just bought myself a nikon d3100 and had a little play last night, it came with the 18-55mm kit lense and I'm just going to get used to taht before i buy a better lense (possibly a 55-300mm?)

This is my first ever camera and I'm totally new to photography, I bought the d3100 after reading it was a great begineers camera and hearing nothing but good reviews.

I was jsut wondering if anyone had any good advice/beginner tips for a complete newbie like myself?

2. ComputersaysNo macrumors 6502

ComputersaysNo

- Learn how to interpret a histogram.
    - Avoid taking photo's you can take any given day.
    - Avoid effects (lens-, postprocessing) to enhance a photo. The picture should speak for itself.
    - Compare your photo's with the professionals and learn from it. And yes, you really can make suchs photo's with the gear you have. (or close to)
    - If your eyes wander over a picture, searching for a point of interest, then you probably did something wrong (cluttered, distracting background, wrong focuspoint etc.). In the real world, professionals know within 2 seconds if a photo is worth looking at or not.
    - When using programs like photoshop, try to make it look natural, and not something you see in videogames. It is so much easier to overdo it, than making something look natural. Spend money on GOOD postprocessingcourses/books.

3. pakyooh macrumors 6502

pakyooh

Shoot with what you have now, don't worry about upgrading until you know the basics (Aperature, Shutter Speed, ISO). Read up on shooting manual mode.

4. peepboon macrumors 6502

peepboon

1. Learn basic camera controls
    2. Learn camera terminology (F number, etc etc)
    3. Learn how to use photoshop/LR/Aperture for simple enhancements, there are TONS of tutorials on the net!