New to programming overall

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by Shadylane318, May 3, 2012.

1. Shadylane318 macrumors newbie

Hey guys,

I'm looking to learn how to program in java, C, C++, and any other program required to build on the mac & iOS. Do you have any tips? Should I sign up for a local college course? Any online courses? Also, do you have to be really good with math or is that only for building iOS games?

Thanks,

Dan

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

Take a look at the stickies at the top of the forum.

3. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

4. BanterClaus macrumors regular

BanterClaus

http://codeacademy.com

To learn the basic fundamentals of programming start here. Also you don't need much Math for the basics. I suck at Math and I'm studying Computing at college and I'm finding it absolutely fine.

5. Tander macrumors 6502a

Tander

I would advise against this. That site doesn't show you Objective C nor does it show you C. You should learn both languages first.

The site above looks like it is for Java - a language iOS doesn't use.

6. ArtOfWarfare macrumors 604

ArtOfWarfare

If you want to program on iOS, you need to know C and Obj-C. C++ is optional.
    If you want to program on OS X, you have a variety of options including C, Obj-C, C++, Java, Python, etc.
    As far as being good at math (I hate when people say "good at math",) it depends on what you mean:
    - Do you need to be able to calculate numbers quickly?
    No, you're using a computer. It'll calculate numbers for you.
    - Do you need to be able to understand math theoretically?
    Yes, but it's not a pre-req so much as a co-req you may not even notice.